Thanks For Affirming My Personhood (Otherwise Known as FUCK YEAH MARRIAGE EQUALITY)

I’m young and have not even begun to think of settling down or starting a family or anything of that nature. I’m not even sure I will ever get married. And if I do I have no idea who I’ll be marrying. But the fact that my country has given me a choice to marry or not marry whoever the fuck I want is absolutely fantastic.

I am beyond excited and may or may not be tearing up at my desk right now.

However, just a reminder though that this does not mean all the problems are automatically solved. This country is a work in progress and we have a ways to go in a lot of things, but you consider at least this one thing checked off. DAMN DOES IT FEEL GOOD

This quote is probably going to be shared and overshared too many times to count, but read it and read it well:

“As some of the petitioners in these cases demonstrate, marriage embodies a love that may endure even past death. It would misunderstand these men and women to say they disrespect the idea of marriage. Their plea is that they do respect it, respect it so deeply that they seek to find its fulfillment for themselves. Their hope is not to be condemned to live in loneliness, excluded from one of civilization’s oldest institutions. They ask for equal dignity in the eyes of the law. The Constitution grants them that right.”

The rest of it can be found here: http://www.supremecourt.gov/opinions/14pdf/14-556_3204.pdf (seriously it’s worth it, and Scalia uses the word hippie lol)

EVERYONE DESERVES LOVE

THANKS 5/9 OF SCOTUS FOR ACKNOWLEDGING (some of) OUR NON-HETERO RIGHTS

giphy

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

